From South Georgia Website

Jump to: navigation, search

In 1985 South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands became a distinct U.K. Overseas Territory with a Commissioner as head of the Government. It had previously been part of the Falkland Islands Dependencies.

The Commissioner for South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands (SGSSI) has vested in him, legal, financial and administrative authority and responsibility for the governance of the Territory. Colin Roberts is the current Commissioner.

A Senior Executive Officer (James Jansen) deals with policy matters. The Operations Director (Richard McKee) oversees GSGSSI’s operations and logistics, tourism management and cultural heritage. Dr Jennifer Lee is the Environmental Officer. A Financial Secretary and Attorney General hold similar appointments in the Falkland Islands' Government.

The Marine Environment and Fisheries Manager is Dr Paul Brewin. He oversees the SGSSI Marine Protected Area and works to ensure the sustainable management of the fishery which the GSGSSI seeks to run to the highest international standards.

The South Georgia Government team is based in Stanley in the Falkland Islands at Government House. Their address is:

Office of the Commissioner,
Government House,
Falkland Islands,
South Atlantic,
Tel no + 500 28200
Fax + 500 28201

Email: click here

On South Georgia the Government Officers at King Edward Point are the Government's representatives and have responsibility for local administration. Their duties include those of Harbour Master, Customs and Immigration Officer, Fisheries Officer and Tourism manager. The Government Officers are Pat Lurcock, Jo Cox and Simon Browning.

  • © Copyright GSGSSI 2013. (Click here to read GSGSSI Disclaimer)